The Speaker Vote: 6 January 2015

Updated 30 January 2015

Below is the vote to elect John Boehner (R-OH) as Speaker of the House. The actual roll call was 216 for Boehner, 164 for Nancy Pelosi (D-CA), 24 Republicans voted for other Republicans, 4 Democrats voted for other Democrats, Babin (R-TX) voted Present, and 25 members did not vote. Grimm (R-NY) resigned before the vote was taken.

The 24 Republicans who did not vote for Boehner were treated as voting for Pelosi and the 4 Democrats who did not vote for Pelosi were treated as voting for Boehner. This was done solely for display purposes. Most of the non-voters were Democrats — 20 of the 25. The opposition to Boehner was from the right-wing of the Republican caucus and the 4 Democrats opposed to Pelosi were relatively moderate.

This image is from a new stand-alone DW-NOMINATE that can be run daily as new roll calls are cast. We will have more to say about this software at a later date.

Click image to enlarge

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s